Enrol into the world of Healthy Living!

Keeping track of your health and what you eat has never been easier. Now Diet Clinic have made it possible as an app on your phone, making diet tracking literally at the tip of your fingers whenever and wherever you be. 



Blog Details

Caption placed here

what to eat and what not to eat?
what to eat and what not to eat

Celiac disease, or what is commonly called CD, is an autoimmune disease, which needs a strict precaution of a gluten-free diet. Celiac disease and gluten intolerance are often misinterpreted and stay undiagnosed for long in many. As per dietician and mentor of Diet Clinic, Dietician Sheela Seharawat, a celiac sufferer serious emotional and physical reactions when they eat any food that contains gluten. Their bodies cannot tolerate gluten and the only known treatment for the disease is a celiac disease diet - a lifetime diet that is free of gluten. A celiac disease diet simply means avoiding food products that contain wheat, oats, barley and rye or traces of them. This diet rules out all ordinary bread, pasta, and many convenience foods.

Gluten is the stretchy gluey stuff that helps bread, pizza crust, and other baked goods get nice puffy air pockets. It creates a flexible structure that helps each baked good hang together without necessarily being tough or chewy.

Gluten is made up of two types of proteins - one is the gliadins, the other is the glutenins. In the digestive tract, these proteins each break down further into different peptides. These peptides are made of strings of amino acids, somewhat like a string of pearls. It's the make-up of some of these peptides that causes trouble for people with celiac disease.

 

What all can people with celiac disease allowed to eat?

It is quite simple. People with celiac disease should avoid anything that has gluten-like grains, cereals, pasta and a lot of processed foods. Certain foods like meats, vegetables, fruits, fish, rice and potatoes which have no additive and does not contain gluten, should be a part of your celiac diet.

The most effective way to follow a gluten-free diet is to have foods that naturally do not have gluten like:

  • Fruits

  • Vegetables

  • Meat and poultry

  • Fish and seafood

  • Dairy

  • Beans, legumes, and nuts

 

What are the foods to strictly avoid if you have Coeliac?

There are certain foods that should be strictly avoided if you are suffering from coeliac disease. These foods are absolutely unsafe unless they are labeled gluten-free. They are:

  • Bread

  • Pasta

  • Cereals

  • Biscuits or crackers

  • Cakes and pastries

  • Pies

  • Readymade gravies and sauces

What are the precautions that a celiac should administer?

With celiac becoming more and more common these days, baking and cooking gluten-free have become more and more easy and convenient. But still look out for certain things like:

  • Unidentified starch

  • Modified food starch

  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP)

  • Hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP)

  • Texturized vegetable protein (TVP)

  • Binders

  • Fillers

  • Excipients

  • Extenders

  • Malt

  • Some people may think that cooking food for people on a celiac disease diet is boring and routine. As said earlier, celiac food options are not as limited as one may think. People on a celiac disease diet still eat many of the foods they ate before they were diagnosed, but they replace some ingredients with gluten content with ingredients that are gluten-free.

  • Dietician Sheela Seharawat

  • Nutrition Slimming | Sports nutrition | Diet Counseling | Diet For Kids | Functional Nutrition | Healthy Heart Diet | Ketogenic diet |  Food Plan Preparation | Therapeutic diets | Guidance Lifestyle | Weight Gain Diet Counseling | Weight Management Counseling | Diabetic Diet Counseling | Weight Loss Diet Counseling | PCOD Diets | Diet for Hypertension | Diet for Thyroid | Diet in High Uric Acid

SHARE THIS PAGE!